Star Lord Gets a Face

Star-Lord

It’s finally happened. James Gunn’s “Guardians of the Galaxy” has found it’s Star Lord in “Parks and Recreation’s” Chris Pratt. I’m not really sure how I feel about this announcement. I’m a little disappointed because there was a few of the finalists that I thought would’ve been awesome as the lead but I will keep the faith. Pratt is a respectable actor and while it is hard to imagine the guy from “Everwood” as a guardian of the entire galaxy I’ll keep my mouth shut.

I could easily complain and scoff but I’ve learned that it’s usually the actor you hate the most that does the best. How many people laughed at the idea of the guy from “Mr. Mom” playing the Dark Knight or the guy from “Ten Things I Hate About You” playing the clown prince? How many people doubted the Human Torch as Captain America and were blown away by his portrayal? All I can say is that I will keep an open mind and prepare to be (hopefully) blown away.

What do you think? Is Chris the right man for the job or were the casting directors maybe drinking a little too heavily? 

– Joe D. 

Leave a comment