Gone but Never Forgotten

ASM Tombstone

I think Thursday was probably one of the saddest days in comic history and for this nerd right here. I picked up my issue of Amazing Spider-Man #700 and after finishing the last page I can’t help but feel my eight-year old self crying inside. I’m going take this moment to warn you that if you are a ASM reader and haven’t finished the final issue then please, don’t read this. I’m going to discuss a lot of spoilers and so if you continue on without reading it, things will be ruined for you.

It’s no secret that I’m a huge Spider-man fan. He’s been my favorite superhero since I was seven or eight and I still have the very first comic book that I ever bought and guess what, it’s Amazing Spider-man. With the death of Peter Parker – yes, Peter Parker is in fact dead – and Otto Octavius taking up the web-head mantle, I find myself filled with conflicting feelings.

On one side I’m extremely angry. Shamefully, I haven’t been buying Amazing Spider-Man for a while and just as I jumped back on the wagon earlier this year, I feel my ride has come to an abrupt stop. This past year has felt like I was reunited with a long lost friend that I haven’t talked to in years, but reading that first issue made me feel as though we hadn’t lost any time and now it’s all over. Dan (Slott) I hope wherever you are right now you’re happy with what you did. You have taken one of the most beloved comic book characters and killed him. After fifty years of putting his life on the line time after time you ended Peter Parker’s life. How do you sleep at night? Now when Superior Spider-Man comes around I’m only going to buy one copy. Yeah, I hope that hurts…a lot. Okay, who am I kidding; I’ll buy a couple copies, but I don’t have to like it.

Alright, now that I have my tantrum out of the way I just want to say thank you to Dan Slott. Yes, even after my childish remarks, I must say thank you. While I’m not happy with the overall ending to this series, I have to say that it was bittersweet and actually quite poetic. As I said before Spider-Man/Peter Parker has been defending this world for the last fifty years. No matter what odds were put against him Spidey would fight to the bitter end and no matter who he lost, Spidey valued life overall. After all of this time, I think Peter had gotten what he deserved.

One of my favorite parts was when Peter had a vision of heaven and was able to see all of his loved ones. Peter was finally able to be with his parents and his Uncle Ben. He didn’t have to rush off to stop Venom from killing Aunt May or the Green Goblin from blowing up a bridge. For a few moments Peter was able to just exist and as Uncle Ben told him, Peter had more than earned this peace.

Another reason that I think this turn of events were a necessity is because if Peter Parker had succeeded in getting his body back he couldn’t have continued as Spider-man; he said it himself. When he threw himself and Doc Ock out of that window, destroying Doc Ock’s body, Peter knew he would be ultimately killing Doc Ock and crossing a line that Peter vowed never to cross. So, to keep Spider-man in a world who desperately needs him, Peter’s death was mandatory.

I’m still by no means happy about this turn of events and it’s definitely going to take some time for the hole in this nerd’s heart to heal, but I must say thank you to Mr. Slott. Thank you for taking all of the guilt and burden off of Peter’s shoulders and giving him the happiness that he deserves. I know that you’ve been given a lot of grief for what you’ve done but I applaud you.

And as for you Peter Parker – yes, I know he’s a fictional character, leave me alone – you will be greatly missed. While death has never stopped heroes in the comic book world, that great power is no longer your responsibility, so enjoy your well-deserved rest. New York is (hopefully) in good hands.

-Joe D.

One response to “Gone but Never Forgotten

  1. Pingback: Nerdy Pull List |·

Leave a Reply

