The Walking Dead: When the Dead Come Knocking

Well, boys and girls, we’re one week away from the second saddest day of the year and that’s the mid-season finale of The Walking Dead. This past week’s episode offered us so many great moments and really set the mood for next week’s episode. All I know is that alliances will be tested and all hell will break loose.   REMINDER: There are SPOILERS.  If you haven’t seen this week’s episode I do not recommend continuing on. 

“When the Dead Come Knocking” was a stellar episode and really gave us a closer look at Glenn and Maggie; two characters we haven’t really gotten a chance to fully know, as well as they have at least. At the end of last week’s episode the couple was taken back to Woodbury by Merle and this week showed us what these characters are really made of.  Glenn proved that he’s a much stronger character than previously believed. Not a good bluffer, but much stronger considering he took a good pounding by Merle and killed a walker with his hands literally tied. What I thought was pretty interesting was that he still didn’t talk, even with a gun to Maggie’s head. I was shocked after his speech to Hershel about trading anyone for Maggie. Glenn proved that just one person wasn’t worth giving up the group.

Maggie on the other hand turned out not to be as tough as she’s led on. Not that I blame her when some strange guy is armed with a pretty large knife, but she was easily able to trade the rest of the group for Glenn’s life. Ah, isn’t love sweet. Don’t get me wrong, she’s still one of my favorite characters and she’s definitely made a lot of smarter decisions than say Andrea. If only those two characters could be combined because Andrea would’ve spat in the Governor’s face if she was threatened like that, but I think I’ve aired enough of my complaints with her character.

I was also really glad to see Michonne and Rick finally face-to-face. These two made quite the zombie killing pair in the books and I’m excited to see how their relationship will meld in the show. It was also nice to see Rick show a little heart, saving Michonne from the walkers. He may talk a tough game but underneath that beard and machete lays a big squishy heart. There was a moment of worry though when they rescue part was attacked by walkers because Michonne looked ready to ditch the Scooby gang if given the opportunity, but luckily she didn’t.

Something else that has my cogs a turning is Merle’s allegiance to the Governor and Daryl’s to Rick. Season two had led us to believe that Daryl is glad Merle is gone. When he had that vision of him in the forest, it didn’t seem as though they were the hugging type. With The Governor calling Merle out and him pledging his allegiance to the flag of the United States of Woodbury, it makes me wonder what’s going to have more power over Merle: his fear of the Governor, his love for his brother or his hatred for Rick. In the teaser for next week’s episode Rick asks the same thing of Daryl, so after so much what will his answer be?

I can’t wait for next week, but I’m not ready for the hiatus that comes afterwards. The only thing that I can hope is that the mid-season finale is going to be enough to knock my socks off and leave me begging for more. Season two’s mid-season set a bar pretty high, so we’ll see in six more days if the creators are up to the challenge.

Make sure to check back here for my weekly coverage of The Walking Dead and don’t forget to follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

