Disney Acquires the Force

Well, now instead of George Lucas raping my childhood with less than stellar Star Wars prequels, Disney gets to take a crack at it. All I can say is that Richard Mourdock is full of crap because there’s no way God intended my childhood to be violated like that again. If he did well, then I don’t know what to say.

It was announced today in an article over at IGN.com that Disney was acquiring Lucas Films Ltd. for a cool $4.05 billion dollars. Just when I thought George Lucas couldn’t sell himself out anymore he goes and totally proves me wrong. Although I can’t blame the man, there’s a lot I would sell for $4.05 billion dollars. Despite the fact that this new acquisition has put Disney even further on the road to Hollywood domination, this could also mean good things and for this article I’m going to wipe my mind clean of the prequels and actually look at the glass half full. Just when we thought that 2015 couldn’t get any better with Avengers 2 and The Justice League we’re now going to get another Star Wars. Luckily Georgie boy set the bar so low that the series has nowhere to go but up.

The biggest, most important thing that the filmmakers need to make sure they do is don’t touch Luke, Leia and Han. Those characters have finished their story and if new actors were cast in these beloved roles the fan boys of the world, myself included, would picket on the lawn of George Lucas.  What does give me hope is that the most of the filmmakers and writers today are all children of the Star Wars generation so they would have an immense amount of respect and love for the universe they would be toying with. What I’d really like to see is more practical effects used for the sequels in place of complete green screen and no, absolutely no Jar-Jar Binks.

 I also think that George Lucas is better fit for a producing role. If you think about it, Empire Strikes Back is the best of the series and Return of the Jedi is a lot more fun than A New Hope and that’s because other directors took the reins from George. I think we can all agree that was the best decision for the series.

I won’t lie, I’m very worried that Disney is going to do what it does best and just milk the Star Wars franchise for all it’s worth and eventually make us hate the series, but I hope that I’m pleasantly surprised when the time comes. I’ve already started to get myself excited and I’m afraid I will be horribly disappointed again. But I must be careful for fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate and hate leads to suffering. May the nerd be with you all.

– Joe D.

One response to “Disney Acquires the Force

  1. I agree Joe. The reality is that Lucas is a great filmmaker, but not the best director. Someone is bound to do better with the material. May the nerd be with you. Always

Leave a comment