Walking Dead Countdown: #3 Moments

Three weeks. You heard right, only three more weeks until the season three premiere of The Walking Dead is here. Time is flying and I don’t know about all of you, but I couldn’t be more excited. I’m also pretty excited about my number three moments, because both of them are pretty pivotal moments for Rick’s character. WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD. TURN BACK IF YOU HAVEN’T SEEN THE SHOW OR READ THE BOOKS!

#3 Rick Shooting Sophia

My number three pick for the Walking Dead show is Rick shooting the zombie Sophia in the midseason finale. I think that this has been one of the most pivotal moments in the show to date. I know that a lot of people didn’t like the slow burn style of the second season but I thought it was awesome because it made moments like this even more amazing.

We all know that the second season was about the group searching for Sophia. She was the macguffin – plot device that drives the story – and more importantly, she was a symbol of Rick’s hope. This little girl was the one shred of hope that Rick held on to in this new world and when everyone else was ready to give up he wanted to keep going. That’s why it was such a crushing blow when Sophia ended up being a zombie because Rick had to say good bye to his old ideals and become someone else to survive in this new world. This moment also showed that Rick was ready to lead this group and do whatever was necessary to protect them. Despite a few bumps this show continues to be above par and I have a feeling the creators are only getting started.

#3 Lori and Judith’s Death

I have to say that my number three pick for the comic is probably one of the saddest moments of the book. When Lori and Judith are gunned down in the Governor’s attack on the prison I was shocked and I’m willing to bet that I wasn’t the only one.

There are two reasons why this moment has ranked so high on my list. The first reason is because this moment really proved that no one was safe from Kirkman’s wrath. Up until this point there had been supporting players that had been killed off, but none of the main players, let alone a child. Lori and Judith’s death went against the horror genre status quo that children never die and rarely love interests. The other reason that this moment is so important is because this seems to be the breaking point for Rick. Lori, Judith and Carl were the few good things that Rick still had in this ravaged world and his girls were robbed from him. I can’t tell a lie, this moment made me question Robert Kirkman’s sanity a little bit.

 

Aaaand scene. That’s all I have for you this week folks. Make sure you have that dvr warmed up for the premiere and I will see you next week for my number two moments. Don’t forget to click here for last week’s post. Don’t forget to follow Nerd Says What? on Facebook and Twitter. You can also put your e-mail in to the right and get notices for new posts. May the nerd be with you!

–       Joe D.

4 responses to “Walking Dead Countdown: #3 Moments

  1. You know, I haven’t read the books but I was just thinking that Lori was primed to bite it. I do want to take issue with you listing Sophia death only at number 3. To me Sophia being in the barn was one of the most shocking and memorable moments in TV history. For someone well versed in the books it might not be so much, but i was stunned and in tears.

    • Joe, I partly agree with you. I think it was a monumental moment for the show and for television period, but as a fan of the comic and the show there were two moments that I think are far more pivotal that out rank the Sophia moment. I think this show is amazing and I really can’t wait to see what happens in season 3 because the story they are going to be telling is quite brutal in the comics.

  2. Pingback: Walking Dead Countdown: #2 Moments |·

Leave a Reply

