Weekly Haul

Okay, another week down and that brings us another Weekly Haul. Since I’ve been a lazy nerd these past few weeks I have quite the haul for you readers out there. The books featured this week are all pretty solid. Most I assumed as much but I have to say that one in particular really took me by surprise. I hope you enjoy and be sure to get out to your LCS and support these great creators.

 

Revival #3

Tim Seeley and Mike Norton

I don’t think I can say enough good things about this book. Revival is only three issues in and I’m completely enveloped by these characters. Issue three is a great continuation and really moves the story along nicely.

What I’m really intrigued by is the relationship between Dana and Em. Tim does such a marvelous job of adding a tension between these two sisters. Dana is a really strong female, but she definitely has a vulnerability to her. Em is a tough cookie to get a read on. Issue three really adds a new piece to the mystery of her murder and to her character in general. I get the feeling that she wasn’t as strong of a person as her sister but I feel death has given her a sense of strength and freedom. Tim also does a great job at hooking his audience. The scene with Arlene seemingly being in a trance, coming out of it and then going all zombie has me wondering what’s going on with these Revivers. So far everyone who’s died has come back, but issue three has one character staying dead; so why is she not coming back?

All I know is that this is one of the creepiest comics on the market right now and it’s one of the few comics that I can’t wait to read each month. This comic isn’t for the faint of heart and I have a feeling that Tim is only getting started.

 

Fanboys vs. Zombies #6

Sam Humphries and Jerry Gaylord

Fanboys is one of my favorite books out there, but I felt a little conflicted by issue six. I think the action was a lot of fun and Humphries did a great job at putting in some pretty outlandish moments that will be sure to garner some giggles, but the issue felt a little hollow compared to the previous issues.

While the action was incredibly strong I think that was the weakness of this issue. By the second to last page I didn’t feel as though anything had really changed in the story and it began to feel as a though it was re-hashing some of the same things from previous issues. Don’t get me wrong, I still love the series and a mediocre issue of Fanboys is still better than some series’ best issue. I think this issue would flow nicely in a collection, but just doesn’t stand as well alone.

What I did really like about this issue was the last page. It really threw readers a curve ball and was definitely a huge WTF. I’m very excited for issue seven and I think Humphries has some pretty big tricks up his sleeves.

 

Hoax Hunters #3

Michael Moreci and Steve Seeley

 I’m telling you right now that Hoax Hunters is going to be one of the powerhouses for Image. It has continued to impress me with each new issue and I think you’d be crazy not to read this book. There are some series that I passed on early in their run and I’m still kicking myself. That’s a mistake I won’t be making with Hoax Hunters.

Issue three picks up on the monster cliffhanger from issue two and doesn’t let up. Readers get a broader view of the group and Murder and Ken Cadaver get a chance to spread their wings a bit. I think my favorite part of the issue is when Ken goes into Jack’s head to retrieve a memory of Jacks’ father. This scene gives readers some clues as to what happened to Jack’s father and introduces a faceless (literally) mystery character. What made this part so intriguing was whether or not this person really didn’t have a face or whether it was blank because Jack had no clear memory of the man. I really hope he’s a faceless character because that would add to the already vast cast of unique characters.

I have a feeling that Hoax Hunters is going to be big and for good reason. Michael Moreci and Steve Seeley are crafting a well thought out story that keeps you guessing and answers readers’ questions with question to keep them coming back for more. I’m going to stop telling you how good it is now, so you’ll go experience it for yourself, but please wait until the end of my article and then you can go (wink).

 

Ghostbusters #13

Erik Burnham and Dan Schoening

 I don’t have to tell you how good Ghostbusters because I’ve already done it week after week, but I guess I’ll do it anyway. Ghostbusters is awesome and issue thirteen has added a pretty interesting plot twist and a character that may be more obnoxious than Peter Venkman.  

This new issue begins with the Ghostbusters’ final stop on their trip across America, Chicago. Here they battle the ghost of a great white shark with a…fifth Ghostbuster? I was shocked to see that they boys in brown had franchise location set-up in the windy city, but I like the idea.  Another pleasant surprise from the book is the reappearance of a familiar face. I don’t want to say whom, but something tells me that something pretty epically bad is on the horizon for the Ghostbusters and the city of New York.

Issue thirteen also heats up when Janine and her beau’s – a man with a striking resemblance to the cartoon Egon with blonde locks – date has a little spectral interruption and their saved by none other than the Ghost…Smashers?

I’ve said it many times and I’ll say it again. Erik Burnham is the perfect writer for Ghostbusters. His work shows that he has deep passion for these characters and he isn’t going to let up one bit. Also, if you missed my interview with Erik you can check it out here! He answers all of my burning questions and completely knocks the interview out of the park.

 

 

Before Watchmen: Nite Owl #3

J. Michael Straczynski, Andy Kubert and Joe Kubert

Nite Owl was the most surprising book I read over the last two weeks. Up until now I’ve been pretty lukewarm towards the series but this third issue has definitely warmed me up. I think what I liked about this issue is because it actually added a lot of depth to Nite Owl and made him actually seem a little less of a Batman rip-off.

The story continues from issue three and Nite Owl has sought out the madam that he met while pursuing a thug with Rorschach. She gives him a tip to a possible suspect for the recent murders and Nite Owl does what he does best, persuasive interrogation. What I thought was most interesting was that the business relationship between Nite Owl and the Madam takes a more personal turn and she learns Nite Owl’s identity. What I want to know now is whether or not she’s as trustworthy as she seems. The biggest twist to the story is when Mason gives Dan (Nite Owl) a letter with a big confession. That right there has me hooked the most. What did the letter say?

 Nite Owl has become one of the stronger Before Watchmen books and all I can hope is that with one issue left it can end with a bang. Straczynski has finally shown that Nite Owl isn’t as much like Batman as one would assume.

 

That’s all I have for you this week. Now that you’ve heard what I’m reading I’d love to hear what made it into your haul. I’m also open to suggestions. Let me know what series I’m missing out on each week. 

Leave a Reply

