Walking Dead Countdown

The time is almost here! In only ten short weeks Robert Kirkman’s “The Walking Dead” returns for its third season on AMC. I was practically drooling at the trailer that premiered at SDCC this year. It really looks like the show continues to stay faithful to the comics, while throwing in a few curve balls to keep us all on our toes. This season not only begins the Ricktatorship, but also introduces two fan-favorite characters, Michonne and the Governor. Fans of the comic will know just how bad things get for our band of survivors while inhabiting the prison; so, I’m extremely curious just how close to the book the show runners plan to stick and how far they’re willing to push the envelope.

To celebrate this momentous occasion I’ve decided to do a countdown to the premiere with my top ten favorite moments of The Walking Dead comic as well as the television show. Let me tell you, it was difficult to do when this series has so many amazing and iconic moments. I definitely invite all of my readers to join in. Leave your two cents below in the comment section and feel free to agree with me or tell me I’m wrong. I’m married, so I’ve grown accustomed to hearing it. So, without further adieu, here is the beginning of my top ten favorite Walking Dead moments. Enjoy!

Reader and viewer beware! Possible spoilers in the weeks ahead.

 

#10  Bicycle Girl

Despite what has happened in the show so far, I think there are very few things that are as iconic as the Bicycle Girl. She’s a member of the walking dead – sort of – but I feel her character evoked more sympathy than fear.  She was one of the first walkers that Rick came across in the pilot episode and while Rick was a little thrown off kilter by the chomping torso, she wasn’t frightening. When she was reaching for Rick, it looked more like the woman was reaching for help. The eyes, though vacant still possessed a great deal of sadness. Granted, it was more hunger than anything else, but it was still sad. This character was a great visual in the book and the show runners did an amazing job bringing this iconic walker to life.

What I also think is pivotal about the interaction between Rick and the Bicycle Girl is that it shows the compassion Rick possesses. Before beginning his search to find Lori and Carl, Rick goes out of his way to find this walker and end her suffering. This scene really establishes the kind of person Rick is and makes it all the more tragic as this apocalyptic world changes Rick to the very core.

Maybe I’m reading too much into this character, but that’s what I love about art in any form; people have their own interpretation of every aspect. Although, I feel I’m not too off on this character’s importance since she had her own on-line mini-series that followed Hannah’s (Bicycle girl) tragic end.  While it wasn’t as impactful as most of the show, it’s definitely a fun and interesting companion piece.  If you haven’t seen them already, check out AMC’s website for all the webisodes.

I think this moment is one that many may over look, but I have no doubts that it deserves its place on the top ten moments of the show.

Well, thank you all for taking the time to read this post and  be sure to click below  to see my number ten pick for The Walking Dead comic. Don’t forget to check back next week as I continue my countdown to the season three premiere of “The Walking Dead.”

 #10 Attack on Camp

 

– Joe D.

One response to “Walking Dead Countdown

  1. Pingback: Walking Dead Countdown #9 Moments |·

Leave a Reply

