Weekly Haul

Welcome back everyone! I’m happy to see all you hungry readers coming back to nerd out with me. Unfortunately, my weekly grab bag is a little lighter than usual, but quantity doesn’t always mean quality. So, sit back, relax and take a peek at this week’s Weekly Haul.

Before Watchmen: Night Owl #2

By: J. Michael Straczynski, Andy Kubert and Joe Kubert

 My feelings for the Before Watchmen still remain very much torn. I have such a respect and love for the source material and it’s because of that love, that I want to see more of it. What I find most funny is that the series that I thought I’d love, Night Owl and Comedian, I’ve been less than impressed with and the series I thought I’d hate, Silk Spectre, I’ve been pleasantly surprised with.  Ozymandias and Minutemen I can take them or leave them, but I digress.

This week I’m here to talk about issue two of Night Owl and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. This second issue is much better than the previous, but in my opinion it’s because Rorschach completely overshadows Night Owl.

The story picks up some time after the first. Night Owl is in pursuit of some dastardly villains and is backed up by his partner Rorschach. While apprehending the criminals the two crime-fighters come across the Twilight Lady, a madam to multiple call girls. The situation flares repressed memories for Rorschach and Night Owl is forced to ‘calm down’ his partner. This is where the issue really gets interesting.

We all know from The Watchmen that Rorschach definitely has his own personal demons. I mean that guy is wading in the deep end of the pool with his head barely above water. Of course, most of the back-story we’re given for Rorschach is information we’ve already been privy to, but his character is still interesting. One particular scene that I liked was Rorschach in a sermon.  The preacher is going on and on about how the younger generation’s eternal souls were destined for the pit because of the music they listened to and the movies they watched. Rorschach just sat quiet in the crowd and then finally mustered two words. It sort of showed one of the many layers to the character.

This was a very strong issue and an improvement on the first, but as I said before, it’s better for the wrong reasons. While a few moments have me intrigued for the Night Owl story line, I found myself more excited for the Rorschach moments.

Hit-Girl #2

By: Mark Millar and John Romita Jr. 

I must say that Hit-Girl #2’s tagline, ‘the best just got better” is certainly true. That stakes have been raised and I feel that Millar definitely has a plan that is going to knock our socks off.

 Issue two picks up shortly after the first and Kick-Ass has begun Hit-Girl’s Superhero 101. I really liked Hit-Girl’s fishing lesson. It was hilarious to see Kick-Ass dressed as the world’s youngest pimp. Whether or not Millar meant to, this scene is very reminiscent of I something you would see in Daredevil, which isn’t a bad thing at all. I really like that Kick-Ass is actually becoming a bit of a bad ass and what I love about the character is that just as you start to believe him as this awesome superhero, he does something to completely remind us that he’s still just a kid.

 If you’re worried that Kick-Ass is the only one that gets to have fun, don’t worry. Hit-Girl gets to get her hands dirty too. She steps up and saves Kick-Ass’ butt in glorious fashion.  She opens fire on a room full of mob bosses and leaves no survivors to tell the tale.

 Hit-Girl is a must own for all comic fans because it has action, humor, drama, more action, a little more humor and a lot more action to round it all out. So, stop reading now and pick up these new books. Go on, stop reading. You’re still reading.  Alright nerd and nerdettes, I will see you next week for another installment of Weekly Haul.

– Joe D.

Leave a Reply

