Weekly Haul

Come one, come all! It’s time to celebrate the most magical day of the week, new comic book day! Unfortunately, the day has passed and now the wait for next Wednesday begins; so, why we’re waiting I thought I’d give you my thoughts on my weekly haul.

Before Watchmen: Comedian #2

By: Brian Azzarello and J.G. Jones

 The Comedian is probably my second favorite of the Before Watchmen series and that has a lot to do with Brian Azzarello. He’s got such a knack for drafting such dark and compelling characters. If you don’t believe me, then you haven’t read Joker and shame on you. The issue gave an interesting perspective on the Comedian. I think the scene that was really awesome was when the Comedian busts in on Moloch crying. When Comedian receives the news of the assassination the two enemies mourn together.

The first issue was such a strong start to the series that issue two just sort of fell flat. I was let down because I also felt this issue didn’t really further the story along. Readers do get a strong glimpse at the true nature of Comedian when he heads over to Vietnam, but I was just confused on what the overall point of this installment was exactly. I’m not throwing the towel in yet, but I’m definitely going to be a little hesitant about issue three.

 Grim Leaper #3

By: Kurtis J. Wiebe and Aluisio C. Santos

 Grim Leaper is one of the most original ideas on the market right now and I’m very sad that this world is going to be ending soon. The story so far follows Lou and Ella, two star crossed lovers who have quite an interesting life after death. After their initial death, these two individuals leap – Scott Bakula style – into someone else’s body and forced to succumb to a violent death over and over again. Kurtis has created such emotionally damaged individuals and that’s what makes them so interesting. Their leaping granted them each a new ‘lease’ on life because they’re forced to live each moment like it’s their last; because it is.

I don’t want to give anything away, but there is definitely a very Romeo and Juliet type of moment in this issue that was as sweet as it was gruesome. This story has only gotten better with each issue and the cliffhanger at the end of issue three definitely threw me for a loop. Issue four is definitely going to be bitter sweet, but I can’t wait.

Super Dinosaur #12

By: Robert Kirkman, Jason Howard and Cliff Rathburn

 Robert Kirkman is an amazing writer because he creates such captivating characters and Super Dinosaur is a perfect example. The series is twelve issues in and I’ve loved every single one of them. I know what you’re thinking and no, I’m not too old to be reading this book. Kirkman intended this book to be an all age’s book and it has such a nostalgic feel for me. If you were a fan of Johnny Quest then you would love this book.

The premise is simple; Derek Dynamo is a boy genius who fights the forces of evil with his best friend Super Dinosaur, a genetically altered Tyrannosaurus Rex from inner-earth. Inner-earth you ask is a prehistoric ecosystem that exists in the center of the earth. I know, but just go with it. In the last issue the Exile, an alien soldier, has taken Derek to inner-earth to help with the Exile’s master plan. To save his friend Super Dinosaur puts a team together to save his best bud.

I know I say this about everything, but I so highly suggest this series. The art fits perfect to the theme of the book and Kirkman knows how to show his readers a good time.  So what are you waiting for? Go! Go buy it!

Ghostbusters #11

By: Erik Burnham and Dan Schoening

 This next book has me conflicted. First of all, I just want to say thank you to Erik Burnham because he has definitely captured the spirit – don’t worry, I slapped my forehead too – of the original Ghostbusters. Being a fan of the movies, I feel that this series is a worthy continuation, but these last few issues have felt identical and flimsy.

The Ghostbusters have branched out from their New York district and are making their way across America, doing what they do best. In this issue the guys find themselves in Roswell, New Mexico investigating an alien ghost sighting. Of course, ghosts are the least of their worries when two F.B.I. agents decide that they don’t like the guys on their turf.

As I said before, I love this series so far and while there is a ‘ghost of the week’ feel to most issues, there has been a larger story arc building, but that has seemed to disappear lately. If you’re a fan of the series or of the original Ghostbusters, I do recommend picking up this series. All we can do is hope that Burnham has a larger plan for the spectral exterminators and that next issue will let us back in on it.

Amazing Spider-Man #690

By: Dan Slott, Giuseppe Camuncoli, Klaus Janson and Daniel Green

I could rehash my feelings for Spider-Man and writer Dan Slott from my last review, but we all know how I gushed over this story arc. While, this issue has only intensified those feelings, I won’t waste the time recounting. (Click HERE for my review of last two issues)

The story has definitely heated up. Spider-Man and Morbius are pounding on each other high above New York City, while Curt Connors continues his efforts to reinstate his reptilian alter ego.  Connors is using everyone in the labs as guinea pigs for his serums and slowly but surely, building an army of lizards. Luckily, Spider-Man shows up just in time to be the main course of dinner.

Morbius’ part in this story still feels very flimsy but Slott makes up for it by really taking Connors through the wringer. Slott has definitely teases that there could be hope to truly save Curt Connors. The longer he’s stuck in human form the Lizard seems to be losing his hold. I really hope Slott writes for Spidey for many years to come because he really is able to bring a sense of humor to the direst of situations and that really is the true spirit of Spider-Man.  Only a few short weeks until this story arc wraps up and I implore you not to miss it!

I’m sure you’re tired of listening to me babble on, so I’ll leave you for now. But be sure to tune in next week for another exciting installment of Weekly Haul, same nerd time, same nerd channel.  Also, stay informed on new articles by following me on Twitter and liking the Facebook page to the right of this article.

Leave a Reply

