Hoax Hunters Numero Uno

I can remember when I couldn’t wait to pick up my weekly comic books so I could go swinging with my neighborhood wall-crawler or sleuth with my favorite brooding Dark Knight. I was completely married to the Marvel and DC name, but now that I’ve gotten slightly older – only slightly – I’ve begun a steamy affair with Image Comics. If Marvel and DC ask I was with you last night and we had to work late. The reason for my adulterous behavior is because of original titles like Hoax Hunters.

Hoax Hunters is the creative baby of Michael Moreci and Steve Seeley. After appearing as a few short stories in the back of Tim Seeley’s Hack/Slash and then being collected in a wonderful issue zero, Hoax Hunters has made the move to on-going series.

I think what I like the most about this first issue is that it’s a very slow burn type of story. Moreci and Seeley gave me just enough to wet my whistle and then slammed me with a pretty shocking cliffhanger that not even Stallone could out do. Okay, Michael and Steve I apologize for that reference.

For those of you that don’t know, Hoax Hunters is the story of a group of unique individuals who set out to hide the existence of legendary creatures – Bigfoot, Old Nessy, aliens and many more – by using a television show to debunk their existence. I know it’s a bit contradictory but it’s still so much fun.

Oh, and before I forget to mention it, the art is awesome and really helps knock this issue out of the park. Axel Medellin’s style fits the story perfectly and there are two panels that are so chilling. I don’t want to give away what happens but when Jack and Reagan witness the aftermath at the shelter, but Medellin really pulled off the horror of the scene pitch perfect.

All I have to say is that if you’re only going to buy two books this week, make Hoax Hunters your first and pre-ordering issue two as the second.

As a final note to all my Indy fans, Michael Moreci and Steve Seeley will be gracing us with their presence at Comic Book University in September. Be there or be square.

– nerd commander

Leave a Reply

