Fanboys vs. Zombies

What do you get when you cross comic nerds, San Diego Comi-Con, an infected hotdog and flesh-eating zombies? You get Sam Humphries and Jerry Gaylord’s hilariously insane Fanboys vs. Zombies courtesy of Boom! Studios.

To save time, let me catch you up on the story so far. Best friends and long time nerds, the Wrecking Crew – Kyle, Rob, J-Mac, Burger Amanda and Jenna – are arriving at SDCC. The problem is that a little indiscretion like Kyle sleeping with Jenna, Rob’s ex-girlfriend has divided the group. While everyone is getting his or her fill of nerd heaven, a zombie epidemic – due to an infected hotdog – threatens everyone’s fun. Now, the feuding friends are forced to work together before becoming lunch to the undead comi-con attendees. After battling their way to the roof, the group finds out the problem is much worst than they could have ever imagined.

I picked up Fanboys vs. Zombies as a recommendation from a fellow Comic Book University patron and I must thank him someday soon. Sam Humphries (Sacrifice, Our Love is Real) has created a group of nerdy misfits that are as funny as they are dysfunctional. I could definitely see myself hanging out with each an every one of these guys. He’s also has made me think twice about eating concession stand food from anywhere ever again!

Jerry Gaylord’s exaggerated art is perfect for this project. It really helps make me giggle at the impending zombie apocalypse and helps bring the same spirit of such classics as “Shawn of the Dead” or “Slither.”

I have a hard time seeing Fanboys vs. Zombies as an on-going series, but if this creative team stays with the book for the long haul, there’s no way I’m missing a single issue. Except if we have our zombie apocalypse or my wife doesn’t give me my allowance; but barring those two instances, I’m sticking with this series.

So, if you’re a fan of SDCC, zombies, nerds or even hotdogs, then I highly recommend picking up the first four issues of this gem. Hanging out with Sam Humphries and Jerry Gaylord has been added to my list of things to do before I die.

Leave a Reply

