Amazing Spider-Man 688-689

Mmmm, tastes like chicken! 

I know it seems like I have a bias for Spider-Man considering this is my second post and I’m talking about Spider-Man, yet again. Of course, I have a good reason. The master of Spidey himself, Dan Slott, begins yet another masterful story arc with “No Turning Back.”

 For the past few months I’ve seen teasers for the return of one of Spidey’s most animalistic foes, the Lizard and I was hit with panic. With “The Amazing Spider-Man” hitting theaters and the Lizard being the main baddie, I figured this new story arc would be a shameless plug for the movie; how wrong I was. My apologies to Mr. Slott for doubting you, it was so wrong of me.

 ASM 688 and 689 have given us a Lizard that we haven’t seen before and has completely flipped the notion of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde on its head. So many times before we’ve seen a man turned into a beast.  He’s completely taken over by his animalistic side and committed heinous acts, but somewhere underneath the man still exists. Slott shows what happens when the man no longer exists and no matter what form, the beast is all that remains.

 I am completely enthralled with ASM right now and it’s all because of Slott’s amazing ability to weave a web – cue the tomatoes – of intricacy in his stories and bring new depth to long established characters. You can tell that Spider-Man is on the brink of losing it and I’m genuinely worried that he may kill someone. The twist on the Lizard is enthralling, to say the least. The only disappointing aspect of the story is that Morbius is utilized as a mere distraction. I will have faith though, because I know Slott won’t let me down.

 Amazing Spider-Man 688 and 689 are must owns for continuing Spidey fans and if it’s been a while since you’ve checked in on the wall-crawler, then there’s no time like the present. This issue shows that Slott has some big plans for everyone involved and I can’t wait to pick up the next issue to read on. 

2 responses to “Amazing Spider-Man 688-689

  1. Pingback: Hoax Hunters Numero Uno |·

  2. Pingback: Weekly Haul |·

Leave a Reply

